Friday, October 11, 2013

Recommendation: 'A girl named Digit' by Annabel Monahgan

For years Farrah (named after Charlie's Angel Farrah Fawcett) has hidden the fact she is a maths genius with more than a touch of OCD.  When her family moved just before she started high school she ditched the nickname Digit and settled into a normal life with her new friends the Fab Four.  It has been a challenge at times, and Farrah has developed some unusual strategies for dealing with her compulsions, but things have been going relatively well - until she notices the numbers on the screen during a television programme.

Now Farrah is on the run in the caring arms of the FBI, spending time in the most unusual places with FBI agent John Bennett.  Cut off from her family and friends due to her "kidnapping" Farrah works alongside John to translate and decode some unusual conversations, which ultimately leads them to the start of a dangerous game of cat and mouse.

A girl named Digit was not what I was expecting (I was expecting something light and fluffy with very little substance) - what I got instead was a romcom with some intense action scenes and some very serious coming of age.  Fans of Meg Cabot and Michele Jaffe will find a lot to love in this first book about Farrah, and there is a new book in the series due to be published in 2014 called Double Digit.

Title: A Girl Named Digit
Author: Annabel Monahgan
ISBN: 9780547668529
Published: 2012
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

- Em, Central City Library

0 comments

Posts a comment

 
© Teen
Designed by Blog Thiết Kế
Back to top